Shortbread

Image

When i was in school, i did GCSE Home Economics, and to my delight i got an A (would have liked to get A*, but hey ho). For this course, everyone got given a recipe book which we were supposed to hand in at the end, however, i kept this little treasure and favoured a few great recipes which I’ll share with you all! One of which is this easy Shortbread recipe

Gino D'Acampo Strawberry shortcake stack from Lets Do Lunch With Gino And Mel

I make a load whenever I’m home from uni for my both my parents and their partners, my dad even took them on one of his dates when he was trying to impress the woman who he is engaged to today! – he had a great idea of using whipped cream and fresh strawberries to layer them up, making this tasty creamy, strawberry shortbread stack. YUM!

Ingredients

  • 150g Plain Flour
  • 100g Butter, cubed (better cold when working with pastry/biscuits)
  • 50g Caster Sugar (plus a bit more to decorate)
  • Cap of vanilla essence (i use the lid of the bottle as a measure)

Sieve the floor into a big bowl and add the butter cubes, rub together until the mixture resembles breadcrumbs. Stir in the sugar and vanilla and bring the mixture together.

Turn out onto a lightly floured surface, roll out (quite thick, don’t forget to flour the rolling pin) and cut into any shapes you want. Or alternatively, a shortbread mould if you have one to hand. My nan has recently passed one down to me which I’m yet to test!

I find the less you work this mix, the better – I even turn it out before it forms a ball and just press it together.

Pop onto a buttered baking tray (LEAVE SPACE TO EXPAND), prick with a fork and sprinkle with sugar. Bake 180C/160C Fan until lightly browned, if you over bake these, they tend to dry out quite quick.

The result should be a crumbly shortbread biscuit with layers (will upload a picture to show what I mean) that satisfies the sweet tooth 😀

Leave a Reply

