Chocolate Chickpea Cookies

This recipe is from Texanerin Baking who has LOADS of amazing healthy recipes which I definitely need to try more of!

Image

Chickpea cookies with no flour, no oil, no white sugar but full of protein and yummy goodness. They’re also grain-free, gluten-free, dairy-free and vegan. In her post, she says the raw dough doesn’t taste sweet enough, but my vanilla extract is rather sweet and I had no trouble licking the spoon (or my hands for that matter). Erin also says to not attempt them without the chocolate as they need that gooeyness, to make them more cookie-like I assume. I’m sure if you didn’t want to use chocolate, you could add a (small) blob of jam in the middle/desiccated coconut/white chocolate. I’m not sure how these alterations would turn out, but I’m up for finding out! It has also been said that they need to be warm to taste nice, but I still enjoyed mine after they had cooled and even polished the last one off before bed. Even though I followed her recipe, mine did turn out differently, but I enjoyed them and think they look more ‘cookie-like’

  • Prep Time: 8 min
  • Cook Time: 10 min
  • Ready in: 18 min
  • Yield: 14 1″ cookies (I made 7 2″ cookies)

Ingredients

  • 1 can chickpeas, well-rinsed and patted dry with a paper towel (I used Tesco 400g can)
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • ½ cup + 2 tablespoons (165 grams) natural peanut butter or almond butter – room temperature (I made my own almond butter as I ran out of shop-bought*)
  • ¼ cup (80 grams) honey (people have used agave and maple syrup with success)
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • A pinch of salt if your peanut butter doesn’t have salt in it
  • ½ cup (90 grams) chocolate chips (I just broke up pieces of 85% dark chocolate)

Directions

  1. Preheat your oven to 350°F / 175°C. Combine all the ingredients, except for the chocolate chips, in a food processor and process until very smooth. Make sure to scrape the sides and the top to get the little chunks of chickpeas and process again until they’re combined.
  2. Put in the chocolate chips and stir it if you can, or pulse it once or twice. The mixture will be very thick and sticky. (Mine was sticky, but looser than expected)
  3. With wet hands, form into balls. Place onto a Silpat or a piece of parchment paper. If you want them to look more like normal cookies, press down slightly on the balls. They don’t do much rising.
  4. Bake for about 10 minutes. The dough balls will still be very soft when you take them out of the oven. They will not set like normal cookies.
  5. Store in an airtight container at room temperature (or in the fridge) for up to 1 week (They did NOT last that long in my house! just about made it to the end of the day)

Notes

  • Don’t even try with regular peanut butter! They’ll come out oily. You MUST use natural peanut butter. 🙂
  • If you need grain-free baking powder, you can use 1 part cream of tartar + 1 part baking soda + 2 parts arrowroot.

On the whole, I was really pleased with them. I had them on their own as with banana ice-cream, granola and frozen raspberries.

Image

 

Image

Leave a Reply

