Purple Power

BEETROOT! It’s a wonderful vegetable; roasted, pickled, sliced, juiced raw and oh so colourfull. They are a great source of folate, potassiumvitamin C, fiber, and antioxidants, as well as nitrates (helps blood flow & blood pressure). I had a few left over and hadn’t made a juice in a while so decided to juice 1/2 raw pealed beet, chunk of fresh pineapple and an orange —

20140605-162616-59176616.jpg

With the other half, I decided to have my (first) attempt at cooking with beetroot, as I fancied a simple salad with balsamic vinegar, I simply sliced up the beet half, and pan fried it in my salad dressing! (olive oil, balsamic vinegar, apple cider vinegar, sherry vinegar, honey & mustard).

20140605-162300-58980826.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

