Avocado Blueberry Streusel Muffins

As I’ve had a very busy week social wise, I’ve been out the house a lot, leaving a lovely avocado in the fridge for a bit too long to enjoy on its own/just sliced. So I got googling for some blueberry muffin ideas and came across this one.

Now, as I’m into my healthy baking, I swapped 1/2 the plain flour for wholemeal and only used a tablespoon of sugar (along with applesauce and some mashed banana) instead of 3/4 cup of sugar. They turned out really well! although after reading up on ‘how to make the perfect healthy muffin’ I’m going to make a few alterations…..future post to come! (I used salt in the recipe as it was listed, but found I tasted it a bit too much, so won’t be adding it in future, hence why it’s not in my list. This was also a chuck it in and see with regards to getting the sweetness, so apologies for the random amount of banana…I ran out of apple sauce)

IMG_1492

Ingredients

For the muffin

DRY 

  • 1 cup All-Purpose Flour
  • 1 cup Wholemeal Plain Flour
  • 1 tbsp Baking Powder
  • 1 tbsp Baking soda
  • 1 tbsp One Egg Blueberry Cheesecake protein powder (optional)
  • 1 tbsp of Chia Seeds

WET

  • 1 Large Avocado (mashed)
  • 1 tbsp Caster Sugar
  • 1 tbsp of Apple sauce
  • 1/2 small ripe mashed banana
  • 1 large Egg
  • 1 tbsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1 Cup Fat Free Vanilla Yoghurt (I used Onken)
  • 3 Handfuls of fresh Blueberries
  • 1/4 cup of milk
Streusel Topping
  • 1/4 cup Plain flour
  • 1/3 Cup, Sugar
  • 3 Tbsp Unsalted butter
  • 3 Tbsp Ground Cinnamon

Method

  • Prehead oven to 170C and line a muffin tin (enough for 12)
  • First make the streusel topping —- combine the flour, sugar and cinnamon in a bowl, then mix in the butter to get a sort of ‘dough/paste’. Tip out onto some cling film and roll up (like you would making sticks of flavoured butter). Pop in the freezer
  • Combine the dry ingredients and set aside
  • Combine wet ingredients and whisk until smooth (On my next attempt, I’m going to use two egg whites instead of 1 whole egg and whisk, folding it into the combined batter).

IMG_1478

  • Add wet to dry and combine …. I’ve read not to overdo the mixing as it will make tough muffins!
  • Now get your streusel roll out the freezer and use a cheese grater to grate the topping

IMG_1480

  • Spoon out mixture into muffin liners and top with grated streusel

IMG_1482

  • Bake until golden and a metal/wooden skewer comes out dry when inserted into the middle.
  • Once cooked, allow to cool (easier to remove from the paper liners when cool)

IMG_1483

IMG_1493

IMG_1497Great

 NUTRITIONAL BREAKDOWN 

This breakdown includes the salt that I added. Also, when making my muffins, I felt I didn’t need all the streusel topping and popped 1/4 of the dough back in the freezer.

Based on 2000Kcal Diet ... MyFitnessPal

One thought on “Avocado Blueberry Streusel Muffins

  1. Pingback: 6 Ways to Bake with Avocados - California Avocado Commission

Leave a Reply

